Stewardship Sermon Award

Established in 1984, the Stewardship Sermon Award is granted annually in recognition of a sermon that best explores and promotes the financial support of our Unitarian Universalist faith. The $1,000 award is jointly sponsored by the UUA's Stewardship and Development, the Unitarian Universalist Ministers Association (UUMA) and the Liberal Religious Educators Association (LREDA).  The selection is made by a representative committee using a blind process with standardized criteria. LREDA's representative is Perry Montrose of the Community Unitarian Universalist Congregation at White Plains in Westchester County, NY.

Eligibility (subject to change)

The sermon must have been delivered before a Unitarian Universalist (UU) congregation between April 15, 2018 and April 15, 2019 (a Stewardship sermon in Children's Chapel could qualify for consideration). The sermon should explore the spiritual practice of generosity and promote financial support of Unitarian Universalism and should directly address money as it relates to affirming our Unitarian Universalist faith, vision and future. All Unitarian Universalist professional religious leaders, as well as those studying for professional leadership (in at least their second year), are eligible to be considered for this award (with the exception of paid employees of the UUA, UUMA, or LREDA). Sermons are judged through a blind process by a panel of UU professional, religious and lay leaders. The recipient will receive a $1,000 cash award and will see the sermon on the Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA), the UUMA and the LREDA websites.

Submission Format
Entries must be submitted as a MS Word Document to [email protected] no later than Monday April 16, 2019 in order to be considered.
Sermons must be submitted as a Word Document  in the following format:‚Äč

  • Cover Page: The cover page must include the sermon title, author's name, congregational affiliation, mailing address, telephone number, email address and where and when the sermon was delivered. Please omit any page headers and footers.
  • Sermon Pages: Only the sermon title should be included at the top of the first page of the sermon.
  • Identifying information must be modified or removed. Please substitute congregation names with "this congregation" or "our congregation" or some other un-identifying text. Please do the same for state, region, town or geographical landmark names. Where possible, substitute people's names with their roles in the congregation. For instance, instead of "Jane Doe called me," write "the Chair of the Canvass Committee called me." Entries which have not been modified to remove these indicators will be returned  for revision (all entries must be submitted in proper format by April 16th, 2019).

Award Recipients

2018 - Rev. Dr. Justin Osterman

2017 - Reverend Bill Neely

2016 - Reverend Shelley Page

2015 - Reverend Peter Friedrichs

1998-2014 recipients may be found here (scroll down).